CBS Roscommon 16-0 Colaiste Iognaid

Elvery’s Connacht Schools Junior Cup Semi Final

CBS Roscommon qualified for the final of Elvery’s schools Junior Cup with an impressive 16-0 win over Colaiste Iognaid of Galway. In a huge boost for Rugby in the area what makes this all the more impressive is that this is the first year CBS Roscommon have taken part in the premier schools cup competition having competed at Junior Development Cup for the last two seasons.

Colaiste Iognaid started the game brighter and had the better of the early territory putting pressure on the CBS lineout and scrum however the game was only 7 minutes old when CBS in their first meaningful attack robbed a lineout and put the ball through numerous hands before Brian Diffley released to James Brandon who beat the defender for pace and scored in the corner for a 5-0 lead.

CBS gathered the kick off and continued to attack and were now starting to put good phases together, up front James Fetherstone, John Murray, Michael Feeley and Dara Byrne were carry well and Eoghan Coyle was guiding things well from the 9 position. After 10 minutes Dan Butt carried well into contact and was well supported by Sean Doorley and when the ball was moved wide by Conor Shanagher and Jason Hoare and Brian Diffley was again on hand to offload to James Brandon for his second try to give CBS a 10-0 lead.

CBS continued to attack and played the ball in the right areas of the pitch and after 17 minutes good pressure on a Colaiste Iognaid lineout resulted in a penalty which Shane Purcell slotted over for a 13-0 lead.

Colaiste Iognaid then had their best period of pressure in the game ,lead by Captain Conall Fallon at number 2, Colaiste Iognaid  now started to take on the CBS forward pack using their very effective picking and driving game and Cian Parsons, Daniel Cleary and Daragh Coen were tireless in their efforts and when CBS were penalised at the breakdown Diarmuid Codyre went for territory and put his kick 5 metres from the CBS Line, however CBS turned over the lineout and Eoghan Coyle relieved the pressure with a box kick out to the 22 metre line. Colaiste Iognaid won The lineout which was well gathered by Gallagher at 6 and they formed a very effective maul which CBS did well to defend and keep the score 13-0 at half time.

The second was only 3 minutes old when CBS increased their lead when Shane Purcell put in a little chip over the defence and nearly won the chase with Colaiste Iognaid’s Gareth Kenny at 15, however the 15 was penalised and Shane Purcell slotted the penalty to give CBS a 16-0 lead.

Colaiste Iognaid must be given great credit as they continued to test their opponents around the fringes however when tested the CBS back 3 of Michael Farrell, Cian Gately and Niall Cunniffe continually kicked their opponents back into their own defensive zone or ran back at their opponents and gained great ground time after time.

Probably the move of the game came after 20 minutes in the second half when a relieving kick by James Hill was gathered by Brian Diffley back near his own 10 metre line, he moved it to Niall Cunniffe and it made its way through 6 or 7 hands before finally the move ended just a few metres from the Colaiste Iognaid line. CBS continued to attack and were held up on a couple of occasions either just short or they just never managed to ground the ball. Liam Lapina, Aaron Langan, James McNally and Melvin Conteh all did very well on their introduction for CBS during the second half.

CBS will now contest their first Junior Cup Final on March 19th in the Sportsground in Galway and will play the winners of the St Geralds Castlebar V Garbally Ballinasloe semi final

CBS Squad: Dann Butt, John Murray, James Fetherstone, Michael Feeley, Brian Diffley, Conor Shanagher, Conor McNeill, Theo McGuinness, James McNally, Sean Dorley, James Brandon, Shane Purcell, Michael Farrell, Niall Cunniffe, Jason Hoare, Liam Lapina, Cian Gately, Reece Gilligan, Dare Byrne, Eoghan Coyle, Ian Conlon, Aaron Langan, Melvin Conteh

Colaiste Iognaid Squad: Gary Keane, Conall Fallon, Adam Corbett, Cian Parsons, Daragh Coen, Sabre Gallagher, Fionn Durtrin, Daniel Cleary, C McCabe, Diarmuid Codyre, Conor  Briscoe, James Hill, Earon Kelly, James Costelloe, Gareth Kenny, Sean Monaghan, Aaron Mannion, Hugh Keavney, Ruarai O’Connor, Cathal McGuinness, Calum Carpey, Julius Byrne, Michael Higgins

680 2


The Jes reach last four with last minute winner