Ulster Schools 14 –  Connacht Schools  3

Last Saturday in Ravenhill Connacht took on Ulster and despite the constant rain both teams served up an entertaining contest that was in the balance right to the end.

Ulster started the stronger but the Connacht defence lead by the back row trio of Joe Conway, Eoghan Maher and Mathew Cosgrove held firm. Connacht on their first visit to the Ulster half were awarded a penalty near the 10 meter line. Charlie McMicken was unlucky to strike the post with his effort, which allowed Ulster to clear their lines. Ulster again put pressure on the visitor’s defence which set-up hooker Andrew Shaw who spotted a gap to score under the posts. The try was converted by Robert Lyttle to give Ulster a 7-0 lead that they held until halftime.

On the resumption Connacht started with renewed confidence and Charlie McMicken converted a penalty to narrow the gap to 7-3. Ulster responded with a series of attacks which culminated in a line-our drive where second row Harry Clelland blazed over for a try, which was converted by Robert Lyttle to give Ulster a commanding 14-3 lead. Connacht responded with a drive deep into Ulster territory, when they were rewarded with a penalty. The visitors elected to kick for the corner, however Ulster managed to get possession from the line out and clear the danger.  Ulster’s better game management of the wet conditions combined with Connacht mistakes allowed Ulster to control the last quarter and run out worthy winners.  

Connacht:  1-8 Conan O’Donell (Summerhill College Sligo, Niall Higgins (Garbally College) Conor Kenny (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Peter Claffey (Garbally College Ballinasloe),  Sam Holland (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Joe Conway (Sligo Grammar), Eoghan Maher (Athenry Vocational School), Mathew Cosgrove (Sligo Grammar) Capt.

9-15 Stephen Kerins (Summerhill College Sligo), Charlie McMicken (Marist College Athlone),  Paddy Griffin (Calasanctius Oranmore), Sean Horan (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Ruairi Green         (St Pauls Oughterard), Ryan Feehily (Sligo Grammar), Tom McHale (Rice College Westport)

Subs:  Michael O’Connell (St. Edna’s College Galway),  Joe Ugbo (Yeats College Galway),  Eoghan Slevin (Athlone Community College), Dan Trayers (Cistercian College Roscrea), Aaron Wootton (St Gerald’s College Castlebar), Simon Keller (Garbally College Ballinasloe), Tim Costigan (Glenstal Abbey School), Jack Keegan (Summerhill College Sligo), Dylan Connolly                (Garbally College Ballinasloe)

Ulster: 1-8 Conor McIlmurray (Campbell College), Andrew Shaw (Bangor GS), Elliott Boyd (Campbell College), Harry Cleland (RBAI), Jonny Harris (Regent House), Connal Boomer (Methodist College), Josh McIlroy (Ballymena Academy), Duncan Maguire (Ballymena Academy) Capt.

9-15 Cameron Stewart (Campbell College), Conor Kelly (Methodist College), Angus Macartney (Sullivan Upper School), Andrew Magrath (Ballymena Academy), Zach Burtenshaw (Sullivan Upper School), Robert Lyttle (RBAI), Jacob Stockdale (Wallace HS)

Subs: Ben Pentland (Wallace HS), Peter Cooper (Sullivan Upper School), John Clarke (Portora RS), Conal Murphy (Rainey ES), Matthew McKinney, Cameron Fulton (Coleraine AI), Mark Adair, Jordan Hylton, Aaron Haigh (Campbell College)


U18 and U19 matchday squads named for Interpro openers vs Ulster